Lesotho Rich List: Top Richest Politicians from Lesotho

Lesotho is geographically surrounded by South Africa and economically integrated with it. The economy of Lesotho is based on agriculture, livestock, manufacturing and mining, and depends heavily on inflows of workers’ remittances and receipts from the Southern African Customs Union (SACU).

The majority of households subsist on farming. The formal sector employment consists mainly of female workers in the apparel sector, male migrant labour, primarily miners in South Africa for three to nine months, and employment by the Government of Lesotho (GOL).

The country has taken advantage of the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) to become the largest exporter of garments to the US from sub-Saharan Africa. US brands and retailers sourcing from the country: Foot Locker, Gap, Gloria Vanderbilt, JCPenney, Levi Strauss, Saks, Sears, Timberland and Wal-Mart.

Below are the top 10 richest Politicians from Lesotho in 2019

7. Pontso Sekatle

Pontso S. M. Sekatle is a politician and academician. Sekatle lectured at the National University of Lesotho from 1984 to 2001.

6. Mohlabi Tsekoa

Mohlabi Kenneth Tsekoa is a politician who was Minister of Foreign Affairs of Lesotho from 2007 to 2015.

5. Ntlhoi Motsamai

Ntlhoi Motsamai is a politician who has been the Speaker of the National Assembly twice; first, from 1999 to 2012, then from March 2015 to June 2017. Motsamai worked as a teacher before entering politics.

4. Monyane Moleleki

Monyane Moleleki is a politician who has served as Deputy Prime Minister of Lesotho, as well as Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, since 2017

3. Mothetjoa Metsing

Mothetjoa Metsing is a politician who has been Deputy Prime Minister of Lesotho since June 2012. He is a member of the Lesotho Congress for Democracy and serves in the government of Prime Minister Tom Thabane.

2. Pakalitha Mosisili

Bethuel Pakalitha Mosisili is a Mosotho politician who was Prime Minister from May 1998 to June 2012 and again from March 2015 to June 2017.

1. Tom Thabane

Thomas Motsoahae “Tom” Thabane is a Mosotho politician who has been Prime Minister since June 2017. Previously he was Prime Minister from June 2012 to March 2015. He is leader of the All Basotho Convention political party.