Top 10 Richest People in Marshall Islands in 2019

4. Christopher Loeak

Image result for Christopher Loeak

Christopher Jorebon Loeak is a Marshallese politician who was the President of the Marshall Islands from 2012 to 2016. He was elected by parliament as President in January 2012, following the 2011 general election.

3. Litokwa Tomeing

Image result for Litokwa Tomeing

Iroij Litokwa Tomeing was the President of the Marshall Islands from January 2008 until October 2009.

In 1978, Tomeing became a delegate and member at large to the Marshall Islands Constitutional Convention, which was held in Majuro.

Tomeing was again elected as one of the 33 members of the Nitijela in 1979, shortly after the political separation of the Marshall Islands from the neighboring Federated States of Micronesia. He has held a seat in the Nitijela continuously since 1979, as of June 2018.

Tomeing served as the Vice Speaker of the Nitijela from 1992 to 1995. He then became a member of the Cabinet as the Minister-in-Assistance to the President from 1996 until 1998. Tomeing held a “supervisory role” over the Ratak Chain as part of his cabinet position.

Tomeing became the Speaker in 2000. He served as the Speaker of Nitijela for eight years before defecting from the governing United Democratic Party (UDP) to the opposition in November 2007, shortly before the November 2007 parliamentary election.

4 of 5
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse